Faculty Awards: May 2014 - October 2014

See CEE News & Events for more information.


Kara Nelson, David Sedlak and Ashok Gadgil are members of a team of Berkeley faculty selected for the prestigious Obama-Singh 21st Century Knowledge Initiative Award for 2014. They will join other UC Berkeley faculty at the Centre for Technology Alternatives for Rural Areas (CTARA) in the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Bombay, Maharashtra on a three-year project titled, Sustainable Indian Water Infrastructure Project (SIWIP): A Systems Approach. Nelson, Sedlak and Gadgil teach in the CEE Environmental Engineering program. The UC Berkeley SIWIP team will be co-led by Kara Nelson.


Ashok Gadgil has been awarded the 2015 Leo Szilard Lectureship Award for "applying physics to a variety of social problems and developing sustainable energy, environmental and public health technologies." 

Robert Harley was appointed the Carl W. Johnson Professor in Civil Engineering. A member of CEE's Environmental Engineering faculty, Harley is recognized as an expert on air quality, specifically air pollution modeling and analyzing the effects of motor vehicles on air quality. His research is widely cited and impacts major policy decisions.  Harley is the first person to be appointed to the Johnson Chair, a professorship made possible by an endowment from CEE alumnus Carl W. Johnson (CE BS ’41).

Jack Moehle, faculty member of the SEMM program, received the first ever Helmut Krawinkler Award from the Structural Engineering Association of Northern California (SEAONC). The award recognizes outstanding leadership in applying and adapting pioneering academic research to the structural engineering practice.  Moehle was also named Chair of the American Concrete Institute's Building Code Committee 318 for the period 2014-2019. He is the first chair from the Western United States in the over 100 years that this building code has been produced. 

Scott Moura, faculty member in the Systems Engineering and Energy, Civil Infrastructure and Climate programs, has been awarded a research grant on "Fast Charging Batteries via Electrochemical Model-based Control."


The single-PI award is sponsored by the Energy, Power, Controls, and Networks (EPCN) program of the National Science Foundation, and totals $300,000 over 3 years.


David Sedlak was selected as the 21st recipient of the National Water Research Institute (NWRI) Athalie Richardson Irvine Clarke Prize for excellence in water research. Sedlak is the Malozemoff Professor in Mineral Engineering, Co-director of Berkeley Water Center and Deputy Director of the National Science Foundation’s Engineering Research Center on Re‐Inventing the Nation's Urban Water Infrastructure (ReNUWIt). He teaches in the department's Environmental Engineering program.

Mark Stacey has been appointed the Lawrence E. Peirano Professor in Civil and Environmental Engineering. A member of the Environmental Engineering program, Stacey is recognized as a preeminent scholar in the detailed physics of estuarine dynamics. His research has resulted in more accurate and precise models of how freshwater and saltwater mix in areas that are of critical importance to aquatic ecosystems, such as estuaries and coastal environments. 

Professor Emeritus Jerome Thomas was recognized for his 4 years of service in World War II. Thomas served as a Lieutenant in the United States Naval Reserve as a Qualified Deck Engineer. He traveled the South Pacific continuously for 15 months aboard the LST 991 "The Lady Bug."

After the capture of Okinawa and the declaration of peace, Thomas received orders home to Berkeley. He received his PhD in physical and organic chemistry and joined the CEE faculty in 1955. Thomas taught applied chemistry to civil engineers until he retired in 1987.

Iris Tommelein is the first woman to receive ASCE's Peurifoy Construction Research Award. Tommelein, a faculty member in the Engineering and Project Management program, was recognized “for her contributions in developing Lean Project Production theory, methods and tools, and for successfully disseminating these theories, methods and tools into multiple large, complex projects in the US and worldwide.” 


The Peurifoy Construction Research Award recognizes an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of construction engineering through research and development of new technology, principles or practice.

Published 11/06/2014