Student Awards: May 2014 - October 2014

Featured Faculty: Ashok Gadgil

See CEE News & Events for more information.


CEE's Steel Bridge Team placed third behind UC Davis and MIT at the 2014 ASCE / AISC National Student Steel Bridge Competition held at the University of Akron, Ohio, on May 23-24.  See how Berkeley placed in all the categories in the 2014 Steel Bridge Competition Category Ranking Sheet.

Jesus Barajas, Frank Proulx and Lisa Rayle, graduate students in Transportation Engineering, won prestigious 2014 Dwight David Eisenhower Graduate Fellowships for their research. The Eisenhower Fellowship is a competitive program administered by the Federal Highway Administration for the Department of Transportation.

Hanna Breunig, Environmental Engineering PhD student, received an Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) STAR fellowship for the coming year.  Breunig was also one of the 16 students selected to be a 2014 Schmidt-MacArthur Fellow. (See Hanna Breunig Named a Schmidt-MacArthur Fellow.) Breunig's advisor is Professor Ashok Gadgil.

CEE seniors Mara Minner and Erick Paepke received 2014 SEAONC Scholarships. The highly competitive scholarship is awarded to outstanding students who plan to pursue a career in structural engineering.

Minner worked with Professor Steven Mahin on experimental research on the performance of steel brace frames designed prior to 1988, eventually extending this topic into her senior honors thesis. 

Paepke was honored for his exceptional GPA as well as for holding officer positions in both ASCE and Chi Epsilon.

Saddiq Nuru, M.Eng. '14 CEE, was chosen to deliver the graduate student commencement address at the Berkeley COE ceremony in May. (See related news item and video.)

Published 11/06/2014