Faculty Awards: November 2014 - May 2015

See CEE News & Events for more information.


Jon Bray, Faculty Chair in Earthquake Engineering Excellence, was elected to the National Academy of Engineering. Bray also delivered the annual George F. Sowers Lecture at Georgia Institute of Technology.


Michael Cassidy was appointed the Robert Horonjeff Professor in Civil Engineering. A member of the Transportation Engineering faculty, Cassidy is known for traffic discoveries that have forced theoreticians to reformulate models of multi-lane traffic so that they can explicitly account for the disruption of lane changes. He has also developed traffic control methods that exploit these discoveries, such as coordinated ramp metering strategies and lane speed controls.

Gregory L. Fenves (CE PhD '84), former faculty member and department chair of Berkeley CEE, was named the President of The University of Texas at Austin.

Ashok Gadgil was named one of IEEE Spectrum's Engineering Heroes for 2015 for his work on water purification, cookstoves and arsenic removal that has helped tens of millions of people worldwide.

Steve Glaser and Adjunct Professor Roger Bales received a $1.1M grant from the California Energy Commission (CEC). They will work with PG&E on developing an intelligent water information system for the Feather River, the source of water for the State Water Project.

Mark Hansen received Transportation Research Board's 2015 Francis X. McKelvey Award for his outstanding work in relation to the aviation industry. He was recognized for his unique skills in coordinating and executing aviation research in areas such as aviation economics, analytical methods, and public policy.

Arpad Horvath brings his expertise in sustainable transportation to the Transportation Sustainability Research Center (TSRC) when he assumes the position of Faculty Director.

Samer Madanat was named Dean of Engineering at New York University Abu Dhabi. He assumes the position on Aug. 1. Madanat, the Xenel Distinguished Professor of Engineering, was Chair of the Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering from 2012-present, and Institute of Transportation Studies Director from 2005-2014.

Stephen Mahin, Byron L. and Elvira E. Nishkian Professor of Structural Engineering and Director of the Pacific Earthquake Engineering Research Center, was named a Master Academician by Tongji University of Shanghai, China. The title is given to the top 100 professors internationally in all fields of the National Natural Science Foundation of China (NSFC).

Paulo Monteiro was the honored speaker for the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign's 2015 Distinguished Lecture event.

Scott Moura and the Energy, Controls, and Application Lab (eCAL) were awarded a Samsung Global Research Outreach (GRO) award to study battery management systems for achieving long range in electric vehicles (EVs). This project focuses on significantly enhancing the available energy density of electric vehicle batteries by operating them at their electrochemical limits - safely.

Moura also received a Hellman Fellows Award recognizing him as a promising assistant professor who shows capacity for great distinction in his research. His winning proposal was titled "Optimally Fast-Safe Battery Charging via Pseudospectral Methods."

William Nazaroff was awarded an honorary doctorate, the Doctor Technices Honoris Causa, from the Technical University of Denmark (DTU).

Juan Pestana is the new director for the University of California Pavement Research Center-Berkeley and will be splitting his time between the Berkeley campus and the center at the Richmond Field Station.

Raymond B. Seed and Dr. Adda Athanasopoulos-Zekkos (CE PhD. '08) received the 2015 Thomas A. Middlebrooks Award from ASCE's Geo-Institute. They were selected for the award on the basis of their paper, "Simplified Methodology for Consideration of Two-Dimensional Dynamic Response of Levees in Liquefaction-Triggering Evaluation," which was published in the Journal of Geotechnical and Geoenvironmental Engineering, November 2013.

Nicholas Sitar has been selected by the Canadian Geotechnical Society as the Spring 2015 Cross Canada Lecturer. He will lecture at 13 major universities and Canadian Geotechnical Society sections from Halifax, Nova Scotia, to Victoria, BC.

Published 06/22/2015