Student & Alumni Awards: November 2014 - May 2015

Featured Faculty: Raymond B. Seed

See CEE News & Events for more information.



The Seismic Design team took third place at the annual EERI Undergraduate Seismic Design Competition. The team placed second last year, and did not even exist as a team prior to 2013.

The Concrete Canoe team silenced the skeptics at this year's MidPac Competition with its revolutionary geopolymer canoe, Bearea 51. Placing 2nd overall, Berkeley qualifies for Nationals for the first time since 2012.

The Enviro team took 2nd at MidPac 2015. Anticipating the difference in tap water between Berkeley and Davis (the host of MidPac), the team made the adjustments that averted potential clogs in their filter. 

Eight student instructors were selected as recipients of the Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor Award for 2014-15. They were selected for their capacity to promote critical thinking, presentation skills, command of the subject area, and utilization of effective approaches to promote learning. Congratulations to: Erick Burger, Nathanial Butler, Medeline Foster, Bradley Harken, Roberto Luque Nuques, Darren Reger, Michael Taptich, and Csilla Toth.

The department honored the recipients of CEE Undergraduate Scholarships at its Spring Awards Ceremony: Beaver Heavy Construction Scholarships: Jeffrey Zayas, Zacary Tan, Angela Tarng; Chevron Environmental Engineering Scholarships: Yiheng Tao, Max Fefer, Lydia Yiu; Theodore Olsen Scholarship: Brooke Gemmell; John C. Shimmick Scholarship: Jordan Gilles; Ulchi and Yoshiko Sunada Scholarship: Curtis Siegfried; Tsuneo Sekine Fellowship: Wang Liang Jerald Han, Yike Qin, Miklos Zoller, Toan Nguyen. The Department Citation, recognizing undergraduate excellence in CEE, went to Xiu En Kristen Kwok.

CEE senior Sofia Hamilton received the prestigious 2015 Presidential Award National Chi Epsilon Scholarship for her outstanding academic work and her enthusiastic involvement in extracurricular activities, in particular, the National Civil Engineering Honor Society, Chi Epsilon. Hamilton also received the department's Clement T. Wiskocil Award, given to the graduating senior who demonstrates the characteristics of an outstanding professional engineer.

Michelle Hummel, Environmental Engineering graduate student, received a Hydro Research Federation Research Award for her academic merit and promise.

CEE senior Mark Ma received a 2015 SEAONC Scholarship. The highly competitive $5K scholarship is awarded to outstanding students pursuing a career in structural engineering.

Systems Engineering PhD candidate Hector E. Perez was selected as a Student Best Paper Award Finalist at the 2015 American Control Conference (ACC) for his paper “Sensitivity-Based Interval PDE Observer for Battery SOC Estimation.”

Nathalie Saade, doctoral student in Transportation Engineering, and Jesus Barajas, doctoral student in City & Regional Planning, were selected as 2015 Eno Fellows by the Eno Center for Transportation. They are among the top 20 transportation graduate students in the country selected for this honor.



Raymond B. Seed and Dr. Adda Athanasopoulos-Zekkos (CE PhD '08) received the 2015 Thomas A. Middlebrooks Award from ASCE's Geo-Institute. They were selected for the award on the basis of their paper, "Simplified Methodology for Consideration of Two-Dimensional Dynamic Response of Levees in Liquefaction-Triggering Evaluation," which was published in the Journal of Geotechnical and Geoenvironmental Engineering, November 2013.

Gregory McLaskey (CE PhD '11) received the 2014 American Geophysical Union's Keeiti Aki Young Scientist Award. The award is given to just one young scientist in the field of seismology each year in recognition of accomplishments within 3 years of receiving a PhD. McLaskey is the only civil engineer to have won a major award from the seismology division, and one of the very few laboratory experimentalists.

Systems Engineering graduate Jack Reilly (CE PhD '14) received the Council of Universities Transportation Center's (CUTC) Milton Pikarsky Memorial Award for his dissertation that focused on new methods for coordinated, predictive and decentralized freeway traffic control to help create connected corridors and increased traffic flow. 

Published 06/22/2015