Recent faculty awards

Alexandre Bayen has been appointed to the Liao-Cho Innovation Endowed Chair in Civil & Environmental Engineering and Electrical Engineering & Computer Systems. Bayen was also co-author on "Sensing by Proxy: Occupancy Detection Based on Indoor CO2 Concentration," which was selected as one of three Best Papers at the Ninth International Conference on Mobile Ubiquitous Computing, Systems, Services and Technologies. 

Tina Chow received the American Meteorological Society's Henry G. Houghton Award for her "insightful studies of the atmospheric boundary layer and flows over complex terrain using large-eddy simulation."

John Dracup, Professor of the Graduate School, received the Rotary Foundation's "Citation for Meritorious Service" for his work on clean water projects in developing countries.

Ashok Gadgil will lead a US-China Energy and Water Consortium, a five-year, multi-million dollar partnership that aims to accelerate the transition to a low-carbon economy while mitigating climate change. Of the five topic areas in the project, the treatment and management of non-traditional water sources is led by David Sedlak, and data and analysis to inform planning and policy is co-led by Arpad Horvath.

Sanjay Govindjee was named a Fellow of the US Association for Computational Mechanics "for seminal contributions to the modeling and computation of finitely deformable polymeric materials" at the 13th US National Congress on Computational Mechanics.

Slav Hermanowicz, along with Env. Eng. PhD student Henry Kagey and Vivek Rao (Mech. Eng.), won a National Science Foundation Innovation Corps grant to develop further and potentially commercialize a solar-driven greywater reclamation and heat capture system.

Stephen Mahin and Scott Moura received inaugural grants from the Siebel Energy Institute, a global university consortium focused on smart energy. The 24 winning proposals will accelerate improvements in performance of modern energy systems.

Jack Moehle was named a Corresponding Member by the Academic Council of the Academy of Engineering of Mexico (AEM). He was recognized for his professional expertise and leadership, as well as for his outstanding contributions to the structural engineering field in the US and the world.

Khalid Mosalam has been appointed to the Taisei Chair in Civil Engineering and as Director of the Pacific Earthquake Engineering Research Center (PEER), a multi-institutional research and education center headquartered at Berkeley. He will begin his director appointment on Jan, 1, 2016. Mosalam was also selected to deliver the prestigious CEE Distinguished Lecture at Western University, Canada.

Scott Moura, along with Postdoctoral Researcher Dr. Xiaosong Hu and PhD student Hector Perez, received the "Energy Systems Best Paper Award" at the 2015 Dynamic Systems and Control Conference. The paper is entitled "Battery Charge Control with an Electro-Thermal-Aging Coupling."

Yoram Rubin received the European Geosciences Union's 2016 Henry Darcy Medal for his outstanding scientific contributions in water resources research, engineering and management.

Mark Stacey, along with Samer Madanat and Alexey Pozdnukhov, are investigators on a new project, "Multi-scale Infrastructure Interactions with Intermittent Disruptions: Coastal Flood Protection, Transportation and Governance Networks" that will be funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF). The project is part of NSF's multiyear initiative to address the nation's critical need for more resilient infrastructure and enhanced services.

​Iris Tommelein received Lean Construction Institute's Pioneer Award, LCI's highest annual recognition. The award recognizes Tommelein as an individual who has moved the design and construction industry forward in embracing and implementing Lean tools and techniques on capital projects.


See CEE News & Events for more information

Published 11/30/2015