Juan Pestana Receives Berkeley's Distinguished Teaching Award

Professor Juan Pestana has been selected as a 2010 recipient of Berkeley's Distinguished Teaching Award, the campus' most prestigious award for teaching.

The Award is intended to encourage and recognize individual excellence in teaching; teaching that incites intellectual curiosity in students, engages them thoroughly in the enterprise of learning, and has a life-long impact.

Berkeley's Committee on Teaching is extremely selective in determining the recipients of this award: only 232 faculty have received the award since its inception in 1959. The 2010 honorees are:  Teck-Hua Ho (Business), Daniel Klein (EECS), Line Mikkelsen (Linguistics), and Juan Pestana (CEE).

Congratulations, Juan, on receiving this well-deserved recognition of your teaching excellence and the lasting impact you have on the lives of your students!

See UC Berkeley News Release 4.20.10 This year's Distinguished Teaching Award winners define excellence in the classroom and dedication to their students.

Past CEE DTA recipients are:

1999    Anil Chopra
1989    Raymond Seed
1977    Egor Popov
1976   H.Bolton Seed
1962   James Mitchell

Published 04/27/2010