Susan Shaheen

Susan Shaheen
Professor In-Residence
Energy, Civil Infrastructure and Climate, Transportation Engineering

Policy and behavioral research as it relates to the adoption of emerging transportation technologies and innovative services including carsharing (short-term vehicle access), bikesharing (short-term bicycle access), ridesharing, transportation network companies, and smart parking management, as well as user acceptance of alternative fuel vehicles and automation. Her work highlights social equity and justice, particularly in the context of transportation infrastructure and mobility services. The sharing economy or collaborative consumption, as it relates to mobility, is a key focus area of her work. This research involves the development of methodological approaches including survey design; innovative data collection approaches (e.g., real-time data, activity data); focus groups; expert interviews; and policy analysis methods (i.e., impact assessment, benefit-cost analysis, and lifecycle assessment). Her research lab, Innovative Mobility Research, is housed in the Transportation Sustainability Research Center, which she co-directs. Her lab's website is:

Office Hours:

Fall Semester:


Susan Shaheen is a pioneer in future mobility strategies. She was among the first to observe, research, and write about changing dynamics in shared mobility and the likely scenarios through which automated vehicles will gain prominence. She is an internationally recognized expert in mobility and the sharing economy and a professor in-residence in Civil and Environmental Engineering at UC Berkeley. She co-directs the Transportation Sustainability Research Center (TSRC) of the Institute of Transportation Studies - Berkeley. She was the first Honda Distinguished Scholar in Transportation at the Institute of Transportation Studies at UC Davis from 2000 to 2012. She served as the Policy and Behavioral Research Program Leader at California Partners for Advanced Transit and Highways from 2003 to 2007, and as a special assistant to the Director’s Office of the California Department of Transportation from 2001 to 2004.

She has a Ph.D., focusing on the energy and environmental aspects of transportation, from UC Davis and a M.S. from the University of Rochester. After completing her master’s degree, she worked as a consultant to the U.S. Department of Energy and the Environmental Protection Agency in Washington, D.C. From 2000 to 2001, she was a post-doctoral researcher at UC Berkeley. She has authored 81 journal articles, over 150 reports and proceedings articles, 31 book chapters, and co-edited three books. She has also served as a guest editor for Transport Policy, Energies, and the International Journal of Sustainable Transportation (IJST). Her research projects on carsharing, smart parking, and older mobility have received national awards. She received the 2017 Roy W. Crum award from the Transportation Research Board for her distinguished achievements in transportation research. In May 2016, she was named one of the top 10 academic thought leaders in transportation by the Eno Transportation Foundation. In 2010 and 2007, she received an “Excellence in Management” award from UC Berkeley. She is Chair of the Transportation Research Board's (TRB) Executive Committee (January 2021 to present) and was Vice Chair in 2020. She served on the ITS World Congress program committee from 2002 to 2012 and was the chair of the Emerging and Innovative Public Transport and Technologies Committee of TRB from 2004 to 2011. She serves as a desk editor for Transport Policy; associate editor for the Transportation Research Record; and is a member of the editorial board of Transportation Research Part A (2020 to present), International Journal of Sustainable Transportation (2011 to present), and Case Studies of Transport Policy (2018 to present). She was a member of the ITS Program Advisory Committee to the U.S. DOT Secretary (2014 to 2018) and was on the editorial board of the International Journal of Transportation Science and Technology (2015 to 2019). She is a member of the Mobile Source Technical Review Subcommittee to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s Clean Air Act Advisory Committee (2016 to Present). She was the chair of the subcommittee for Shared-Use Vehicle Public Transport Systems of TRB (2013 to 2020).