Results of the 2019 Construction Competition

Featured Faculty: Iris D. Tommelein


The Cal Construction team, composed of Berkeley CEE and Architecture students, along with faculty advisor Professor Iris Tommelein, drove to Spark, NV to compete in the 2019 Construction Competition of the Associated Schools of Construction

The CEE team expanded this year and added a new Project Management (PM) team and competed with two Integrated Project Delivery (IPD) teams

Berkeley competed in 7 main competitions and in the "Alternates" competition.


Preconstruction team

PreConstruction - 1st Place

  • Madison Hildenbrand (Team Lead)
  • Evelyn Ha, Matt Buck
  • Aidan Aparri
  • Cole Benner
  • Vincenzio Widjaja


Sustainability Construction Team

Sustainability - 2nd Place

  • Jeannie Yang (Team Lead)
  • Isaias Marroquin
  • Andrea Rocha
  • Drew John Russell Ball
  • Janelle Lee
  • Alexander de Frondeville


Design Build Construction Team

Design Build - 3rd Place

  • Louis Pak (Team Lead)
  • Sarah Chen
  • Haolin Zhu
  • Jose Rodriquez
  • Sharon Li
  • Theodore Hartono

Most Innovative Award - (not pictured)

  • Paing Phone Thit


Commercial Team



Virtual Design and Construction team

Virtual Design and Construction


Project Management team

Project Management


Integrated Project Delivery team

Integrated Project Delivery

Published 04/26/2019