Susan Shaheen to Lead Transportation Research Board Executive Committee

Featured Faculty: Susan Shaheen


Professor Susan Shaheen will chair the 2021 Transportation Research Board (TRB) Executive Committee, a group of experts who provide leadership in transportation innovation and progress through research and information exchange. TRB's members are selected to provide balanced representation of transportation modes, academic disciplines, private and public sectors, levels of government and geographical regions.

TRB is a program unit of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, which provide independent, objective analysis and advice to the nation to solve complex problems and inform public policy decisions related to science, technology, and medicine. Its annual meeting is an opportunity for transportation professionals from all over the world to exchange information of common interest. The 100th annual meeting, Launching a New Century of Mobility and Quality of Life, will be held virtually between Jan. 5 and Jan. 29, 2021.

On campus, Shaheen is a professor in civil and environmental engineering (CEE) and co-director of UC Berkeley’s Transportation Sustainability Research Center. She also serves as the director of the California Resilient and Innovative Mobility Initiative for the University of California Institute of Transportation Studies. In 2017, Shaheen received TRB’s Roy W. Crum Award for her distinguished achievements in transportation research.

Shaheen proceeds other accomplished UC Berkeley CEE faculty in her role as TRB Executive Committee chair, and she is the first woman from campus appointed to this position. Professor Adib Kanafani served as chair in 2009, Professor Marty Wachs in 2000, and the late Professor Harmer Davis in 1959. 

Click here to view the National Academies' press release.

Published 09/29/2020