CEE Doctoral Students Earn Eisenhower Fellowships

Congratulations to nine UC Berkeley ITS-affiliated students who received Dwight David Eisenhower Transportation Fellowship Program awards for the coming year, including six students affiliated with CEE.

Winners and their research include:

  • Doctoral student Mohamed Amine Bouzaghrane, advised by Professor Joan Walker; Behavioral modeling, causal inference, and machine learning
  • Doctoral student Kate Gosselin, advised by Professor Susan Shaheen;  The intersection of transportation sustainability and safety
  • MCP student Kaitlyn Kong, advised by Professor Karen Trapenberg Frick; Social equity, sustainability, micro-mobility, active transportation, multi-modal transportation, and built environment
  • Doctoral student Jessica Lazarus, advised by Professors Shaheen and Alexandre Bayen;  Development of innovative shared-mobility services and their effects on the proliferation of multi-modal transportation in urban settings
  • Doctoral student Emma Lucken, advised by Shaheen; Health, equity, and environmental implications of mobility-on-demand initiatives
  • Doctoral student Michael Montilla, advised by Professor Dan Chatman; Emerging Transportation Technologies (AVs, EVs, TNCs, etc.), Equitable Access to Electric Vehicles, Sustainable Transportation and Resilient Cities, Transportation and Climate Change, Transportation and Public Health, Private Uses of Streets and Other Public Spaces, Social Ramification of AV Data Practices
  • Doctoral student Aqshems Nichols, advised by Walker and Shaheen; Transportation altruism, public transit regeneration, and community engagement methods
  • Doctoral student Alexandra Pan, advised by Shaheen; Shared mobility and travel behavior
  • Doctoral student Madeleine Parker, advised by Professors Daniel Rodriguez and Elizabeth Deakin; Climate change adaptation, resilience planning, affordable housing, transportation equity, urban mobility, spatial inequality, participatory mapping, data science, spatial analysis

The Eisenhower Fellowship is a competitive program administered by the Federal Highway Administration for the Department of Transportation. The fellowships are awarded to students pursuing degrees in transportation-related disciplines and aim to advance the transportation workforce by helping to attract the nation's brightest minds to the field of transportation, encouraging future transportation professionals to seek advanced degrees, and helping to retain top talent in the U.S. transportation industry. The awards are merit-based and generally result in 150-200 grants annually, subject to the availability of funds.

The program also supports Fellows to participate in the 101st Transportation Research Board Annual Meeting, held in person Jan. 9–13, 2022 in Washington, D.C.