Berkeley CEE Alumni From Classes of 2020 to 2022 Inducted to National Academy of Engineering

Featured Faculty: Paulo J. M. Monteiro

After two years of meeting virtually, the National Academy of Engineering held its annual meeting on October 2nd to welcome new inductees from the Classes of 2020, 2021, and 2022! This year, CEE alumni and faculty were part of the inductees honored in the NAE ceremony, one of the highest professional honors in engineering.

The 2022 NAE Annual Meeting taps into the vast array of knowledge from professionals whose expertise covers solar power, renewable energy, modular reactors, and more. Their decades-long experience finding creative solutions, researching data, and sharing information provides insights into technology pathways to a clean energy transition.

The NAE consists of 12 sections representing broad engineering sections with conversations about issues and trends in each discipline. In Section 4 (Civil Engineering), there was a total of 38 members inducted, with 32% having a direct connection to Berkeley CEE!

From left to right from the photo, here are all the names of CEE alumni/faculty recently inducted into the NAE, with their induction date and graduation date:

Paulo Monteiro              2020                  CEE Faculty, Ph.D., 1985

K.C. Tsai                          2022                  National Taiwan University (International Member). Ph.D., 1988 

Daniel Sperling               2022                  U.C. Davis Faculty, Ph.D., 1982

Lelio Mejia                      2020                  Senior Principal, Geosyntec, M.S., 1978, Ph.D., 1981.

John Hooper                   2022                  Senior Principal, Magnusson—Klemencic, M.S., 1984

Reggie DesRoches         2020                  President, Rice University, B.S., M.S., and Ph.D., 1992

Jim Malley                       2021                  Senior Principal and COO, Degenkolb Engineers, B.S., 1980, M.Eng., 1982

Maryann Phipps              2022                   President, Estructure, M.Eng., 1981

Eleanor Allen                   2020                   CEO, Water for People, M.S., 1997

Jon Magnusson               2016                   Senior Principal, Magnusson-Klemencic, M.S., 1976

Ron Klemencic                2020                   Chairman and CEO, Magnusson-Klemencic, M.S., 1986

Stephen Monismith         2022                   Stanford University Faculty, B.S. 1977, M.S. 1979, Ph.D., 1983

Thomas Kenny                2022                   Stanford University Mech. Eng. Faculty, Ph.D. Physics, 1989

Steve Kramer                  2020                   University of Washington Faculty, B.S., 1977, M.S. 1979, Ph. D., 1985