Academy of Distinguished Alumni: Inaugural Event on Nov. 8

On November 8, 2012, the Department will host an event to celebrate the initiation of the CEE Academy of Distinguished Alumni and the induction of the first class.  The event will take place in an extraordinary venue – the University Club of the completely renovated UC Berkeley Memorial Stadium.

The Academy

The Academy of Distinguished Alumni has been established through the efforts of the CEE Advisory Council in collaboration with the CEE Department Chair, CEE faculty, and the College of Engineering. The members of the inaugural class were selected by a subcommittee of CEE faculty and CEE Advisory Council members based on nominations from all CEE faculty and the CEE Advisory Council. The inductees are listed below.

The objectives of the Academy are to: (1) formally recognize and honor the outstanding professional accomplishments and contributions of Cal CEE alumni, including service to the CEE Department; (2) systematically engage these outstanding alumni in the activities of the Department; (3) use the Academy to increase the visibility of the Department to all alumni;  (4) present the Academy members to CEE students as examples of successful CEE graduates and possible role models for the students’ own careers; and (5) further enhance the stature of the Cal CEE Department by shining a light on the many great accomplishments of its graduates.  

Inaugural Class

Franklin J. Agardy, Ph.D., P.E.
Mihran S. Agbabian, Ph.D, N.A.E.
Rudolph Bonaparte, Ph.D., P.E., N.A.E.
David Friedman, BSCE, P.E., S.E.
Paul H. Gilbert, MSCE, P.E., N.A.E.
Richard E. Goodman, Ph.D., N.A.E.
David I. Jenkins, Ph.D., N.A.E.
Adib K. Kanafani, Ph.D., N.A.E.
Richard W. Karn, BSCE, P.E.
Michael C. Kavanaugh, Ph.D., P.E., N.A.E.
James H. Kleinfelder, MSCE, P.E.
Richard G. Luthy, Ph.D., P.E., N.A.E.
James K. Mitchell, Sc.D., P.E., N.A.E.
Carl L. Monismith, MSCE, P.E., N.A.E.
Karl S. Pister, Ph.D., N.A.E.
Leslie E. Robertson, BSCE, P.E., S.E., N.A.E.
Awtar Singh, Ph.D., P.E., G.E.
Robert L. Taylor, Ph.D., N.A.E.
R. Rhodes Trussell, Ph.D., P.E., N.A.E.
James D.A. van Hoften, Ph.D.
Robert P. Wadell, MSCE, P.E.
Robert L. Wiegel, MSME, P.E., DIST.D.CE., N.A.E.
Edward L. Wilson, D.Eng., N.A.E.
Loring A. Wyllie, Jr., MSCE, P.E., S.E., NA.E.
Peter I. Yanev, MSCE
Victor Zayas, Ph.D., P.E.

Photos and bios will be posted by Nov. 8.


Many friends of the Department came forward to support the Academy and the Inaugural Event as Blue, Gold, and Silver -level sponsors. The launch of the CEE Academy is a resounding success and it is due in large part to the steadfast support of the following individuals and companies.

Blue Level ($6000)

Gold Level ($3000)

Silver Level ($1500)


Published 11/08/2012