Carlos Daganzo, Jack Moehle, and Greg Fenves Elected to NAE

Featured Faculty: Carlos F. Daganzo, Jack P. Moehle

CEE faculty members, Carlos Daganzo and Jack Moehle, were among the 67 individuals elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE). Also elected was former CEE chair and faculty member, Gregory Fenves.

Carlos Daganzo, Chancellor Professor of the Graduate School, and retired Robert Horonjeff Chair in Civil and Environmental Engineering, was elected for his engineering contributions to traffic, transportation, and logistics systems and operations.

Jack Moehle, T.Y. and Margaret Lin Professor of Engineering, was elected for his earthquake-resistant design and analysis of building structures, and for leadership in engineering education.

And former CEE faculty member and department chair, Gregory Fenves (current executive vice president and provost, University of Texas, Austin), was elected for his contributions to computational modeling, creation of open source software for earthquake engineering analysis, and academic leadership.

Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature," and to the "pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education."

See NAE New Members press release (Feb. 6. 2014)