Susan Shaheen

Professor In-Residence
Research Interests
Policy analysis, Behavioral research, Transportation, Energy and environment, Mobility & sharing economy, ITS (smartphone apps, automated vehicles), Alternative fuel vehicles (electric vehicles, hydrogen vehicles)

408 McLaughlin Hall

Office Hours

Spring 2024 semester: 

10:30am to 11:30am, Tuesdays (408 McLaughlin Hall)

2 to 3pm, Wednesdays (Zoom)

1 hour/week by appointment


Shaheen headshot

Susan Shaheen is a Professor In-Residence of Civil and Environmental Engineering at UC Berkeley. She also co-directs the Transportation Sustainability Research Center (TSRC) of the Institute of Transportation Studies. Shaheen’s research focuses on the adoption of emerging transportation technologies and innovative services, including carsharing (short-term vehicle access), bike-sharing (short-term bicycle access), ridesharing (carpooling/vanpooling), transportation network companies (or ride-hailing), and smart parking management, as well as user acceptance of alternative fuel vehicles and automation. Her work highlights social equity and justice, particularly in the context of transportation infrastructure and mobility services. 

Shaheen was among the first to observe, research, and write about the changing dynamics in shared mobility and the likely scenarios through which automated vehicles will gain prominence. She has been recognized as an international expert in innovative mobility strategies and sustainable mobility. Shaheen has authored/co-authored 92 journal articles, over 160 reports and proceedings articles, 36 book chapters, and co-authored and co-edited three books. She is a member of numerous editorial boards, including Transportation Research, Part D; the International Journal of Sustainable Transportation (IJST); Sustainable Engineering and Science Section, Sustainability; Environmental Research: Infrastructure and Sustainability; and Case Studies of Transport Policy. She is a member of the Transportation Research Board’s Executive Committee and served as the Chair and Vice Chair from 2019 to 2022. She was appointed as the Automotive Member of the California Air Resources Board by Governor Gavin Newsom in January 2023 and received Senate confirmation in September 2023. 


Post Doctoral Scholar, Transportation and Highway Engineering, University of California, Berkeley, 2001

Ph.D., University of California, Davis, 1999

M.S., University of Rochester, 1990

Shaheen’s research focuses on the sharing economy as it relates to mobility. This research involves the development of methodological approaches, including survey design; innovative data collection approaches (e.g., real-time data, activity data); focus groups; expert interviews; and policy analysis methods (i.e., impact assessment, benefit-cost analysis, and lifecycle assessment). Her research lab, Innovative Mobility Research (IMR), is housed in the Transportation Sustainability Research Center, which she co-directs. IMR’s research examines and analyzes current transportation and land use options available to consumers and innovative transportation concepts and technologies that are emerging. Understanding how people will respond to these issues is critical to informing transportation decision-makers and bringing new ideas to the marketplace. IMR is focused on understanding the social and environmental impacts of transportation, including environmental justice. Her research lab is investigating mechanisms that will encourage public transit use and cut back on single occupancy vehicle driving, thereby enabling us to reduce our oil consumption, improve our air quality, and move us closer toward energy independence. 

Shaheen’s research projects on carsharing, smart parking, and older mobility have received national awards. In May 2019, she received the Most Influential Paper Award from the World Conference on Transportation Research (awarded every three years) for her 2016 journal article in Transport Policy: “Just a Better Taxi? A Survey-Based Comparison of Taxis, Transit, and Ridesourcing Services in San Francisco.” In December 2018, she received the Institute of Transportation Studies-Berkeley’s Faculty of the Year award. She received the 2017 Roy W. Crum award from the Transportation Research Board (TRB) for her distinguished achievements in transportation research. In May 2016, she was named one of the top 10 academic thought leaders in transportation by the Eno Transportation Foundation. In 2010 and 2007, she received an “Excellence in Management” award from UC Berkeley.