Academy of Distinguished Alumni

The Civil and Environmental Engineering Department (CEE) at the University of California, Berkeley has thousands of successful alumni living in the US and abroad. The accomplishments of many of these alumni are truly noteworthy and have contributed greatly to societal well‐being and development, both in the US and around the globe.

Berkeley alumni justifiably take pride in their education and in knowing that year in and year out, CEE at Berkeley is at the top of national rankings for civil and environmental engineering programs.

In this context, CEE leadership and faculty, aided by the generosity of its Advisory Council and the guidance of the College of Engineering, established the CEE Academy of Distinguished Alumni (Academy) in 2012.

The objectives of the Academy are to:

  1. honor the outstanding professional accomplishments and contributions of CEE alumni, including service to the CEE Department
  2. engage outstanding alumni in the activities of the Department
  3. increase the visibility of the Department to all alumni
  4. present Academy members to students as examples of successful CEE graduates and possible role models for the students’ own careers
  5. further enhance the stature of the Cal CEE Department by shining a light on the many great accomplishments of its graduates. 


Academy Members

Name Credentials Induction Date
Franklin J. Agardy Ph.D., P.E.
Eleanor Allen M.S., P.E., BCEE, N.A.E.
Mohammad Abdulaziz Alshaikh Ph.D.
Gregory B. Baecher Ph.D., N.A.E.
John A. Baker M.S., P.E.
James M. Becker Ph.D., P.E.
Glenn R. Bell M.S., P.E., S.E.
Mark Bley B.S.
Brenda Myers Bohlke Ph.D.
Rudolph Bonaparte Ph.D., P.E., D.GE., N.A.E.
Ross W. Boulanger Ph.D., P.E., N.A.E.
Clifford C. Chan M.S., P.E.
John A. Cherry Ph.D., N.A.E.
Anil K. Chopra Ph.D., N.A.E.
G. Wayne Clough Ph.D., P.E., Hon. M.ASCE, N.A.E.
Paul A. Cocotis B.S., P.E.
Lisbeth B. Collins P.E., S.E., LEED AP
Mary C. Comerio (Honorary) B.A., M.S.W., M.Arch.
Donald W. Davies P.E., S.E.
Rula A. Deeb Ph.D., BCEEM, PMP
Gregory G. Deierlein Ph.D., N.A.E.
Reginald DesRoches Ph.D., N.A.E.
J. Michael Duncan Ph.D., P.E., Dist. M.ASCE, N.A.E.
William J. Dunlay Ph.D., LM.ASCE
Uri Eliahu B.S., P.E., G.E.
Gregory L. Fenves Ph.D., N.A.E.
Fred N. Finn M.S., P.E., N.A.E.
Lorraine N. Fleming Ph.D., P.E.
David Friedman BSCE, P.E., S.E.
David T. Gockel M.S., P.E.
Richard E. Goodman Ph.D., N.A.E.
D. Vaughan Griffiths Ph.D., P.E., Dist. M. ASCE
Emily M. Guglielmo P.E., S.E.
Ashraf Habibullah MSCE, P.E., S.E.
Elizabeth Hausler Ph.D.
Jefferson M. Hilliard MSCE, P.E., Dist. M.ASCE
John D. Hooper M.S., P.E., S.E., F.SEI
Susan S. Hubbard Ph.D., N.A.E.
Izzat M. (Ed) Idriss Ph.D., P.E., G.E., N.A.E.
Jorg Imberger Ph.D., N.A.E.
Adib K. Kanafani Ph.D., N.A.E.
Richard W. Karn BSCE, P.E.
Michael C. Kavanaugh Ph.D., P.E., N.A.E.
Edward Kavazanjian Jr. Ph.D., P.E., G.E., N.A.E.
Ronald Klemencic M.S., P.E., S.E., Hon. AIA, N.A.E.
John H. Koon Ph.D., P.E., N.A.E.
Steven L. Kramer Ph.D., P.E., D.GE., N.A.E.
Kimberly E. Kurtis Ph.D., P.E.
Julie L. Labonte P.E.
M. Susan Leal B.S., J.D.
Richard G. Luthy Ph.D., P.E., N.A.E.
Janiele Maffei M.S., P.E., S.E.
Jon D. Magnusson M.S., P.E., S.E., N.A.E.
Shaily Mahendra Ph.D.
Faiz Makdisi Ph.D., P.E., D.GE
James O. Malley M.Eng., P.E., S.E.
Benito J. Mariñas Ph.D.
Linsey C. Marr Ph.D.
Robin K. McGuire Ph.D., P.E., N.A.E.
Therese Watkins McMillan B.S., M.S., M.C.P.
Lelio Mejia Ph.D., P.E., G.E., N.A.E.
Judith Mitrani-Reiser Ph.D.
Jack P. Moehle (Honorary) Ph.D., P.E., NAE
Stephen G. Monismith Ph.D.
Carl L. Monismith MSCE, P.E., N.A.E.
Juan Carlos Muñoz Abogabir Ph.D., P.E.
Marwan Nader Ph.D., P.E.
Balakrishnan Narayanan Ph.D., P.E.
Iraj Noorany Ph.D., P.E., G.E.
Michael Ortiz Ph.D., N.A.E.
Farhang Ostadan Ph.D., P.E., G.E.
Denny S. Parker Ph.D., P.E., N.A.E.
Maryann Phipps M.Eng., P.E., S.E.
George J. Pierson M.S., P.E., Esq.
Y.R. (Joe) Rashid Ph.D., P.E.
Ellen M. Rathje Ph.D., P.E.
James H. Roberts MSCE, M.B.A.
Larry L. Russell Ph.D., P.E.
S. Bry Sarté P.E., LEED AP
Bernard Saunier Ph.D., P.E., G.E.
Laurel Schaider Ph.D.
Howard A. Schirmer Jr. MSCE, P.E.
Carolyn Searls M.S., P.E.
Raymond B. Seed Ph.D.
Zakiya Seymour Ph.D., P.E.
Jonathan P. Stewart Ph.D., P.E.
Ken J. Susilo P.E., D.WRE
Robert L. Taylor Ph.D., N.A.E.
George Tchobanoglous Ph.D., P.E., N.A.E.
Thaleia Travasarou Ph.D., P.E., G.E.
Philip T. Tringale Ph.D., P.E.
R. Rhodes Trussell Ph.D., P.E., N.A.E.
Shahriar Vahdani Ph.D., P.E.
James D. A. van Hoften Ph.D.
Robert P. Wadell MSCE, P.E.
Mason T. Walters M.Eng., P.E., S.E.
Kejin Wang Ph.D.
Robert D. Whitley M.S., P.E.
Edward L. Wilson D.Eng., N.A.E.
Loring A. Wyllie Jr. MSCE, P.E., S.E., N.A.E.
Peter I. Yanev MSCE, P.E.
Victor A. Zayas Ph.D., P.E.

Academy Members In Memoriam

Name Credentials Induction Date
Mihran S. Agbabian Ph.D., N.A.E.
Vitelmo Bertero (Honorary) Ph.D., N.A.E.
Ray W. Clough (Honorary) Sc.D., N.A.E.
Harmer E. Davis B.S., M.S., N.A.E.
Henry J. Degenkolb B.S., N.A.E.
Ben C. Gerwick Jr. BSCE, N.A.E.
William R. Gianelli B.S., P.E.
Paul H. Gilbert MSCE, P.E., N.A.E.
Eugene M. Herson MSCE, P.E., C.P.A.
Charles Gilman Hyde (Honorary) Hon. LLD
David I. Jenkins (Honorary) Ph.D., N.A.E.
Warren J. Kaufman Ph.D.
David N. Kennedy N.A.E.
James H. Kleinfelder MSCE, P.E.
Helmut Krawinkler Ph.D., P.E., N.A.E.
Tung-Yen (T.Y.) Lin M.S., N.A.E.
Patrick C. Lucia Ph.D., M.S., B.S., P.E., G.E.
Stephen A. Mahin Ph.D.
James K. Mitchell (Honorary) Sc.D., P.E., N.A.E., N.A.S.
Doug Moorhouse BSCE, NAE
Julia Morgan BSCE
Henry J. Ongerth B.S., N.A.E.
Karl S. Pister Ph.D., N.A.E.
Egor Popov Ph.D., N.A.E.
James E. Roberts B.S., N.A.E.
Leslie E. Robertson BSCE, P.E., S.E., N.A.E.
Alexander C. Scordelis MSCE, NAE
Harry Bolton Seed (Honorary) Ph.D., N.A.E., N.A.S.
Awtar Singh Ph.D., P.E., G.E.
Jerome F. Thomas (Honorary) Ph.D.
Bernard A. Vallerga MSCE, N.A.E.
Robert L. Wiegel (Honorary) MSME, DIST.D.CE, P.E., N.A.E.
Richard Woodward Jr. M.S.


Active Membership
A CEE alumnus/alumna is eligible for nomination as an Active Member of the Academy if he/she holds a BS, MS or PhD degree from the University of California, Berkeley CEE Department granted at least 10 years prior to nomination; and is one of the following:

  • is an outstanding and recognized engineer practitioner and/or an engineer who possesses special expertise in one or more of the CEE disciplines;
  • is an outstanding and recognized academician and/or researcher in CEE or a related field;
  • is an outstanding and recognized government, institutional, or business leader who has achieved distinction in the management and development of his/her organization
  • is an outstanding engineer contributor to an institution, nongovernmental organization (NGO), or other entity (an example in this category is Engineers Without Borders).

Honorary Membership
A non-Berkeley CEE alumnus/alumna is eligible for nomination as an Honorary Member if he/she:

  • possesses outstanding qualities;
  • has a record of outstanding service to the Berkeley CEE Department;
  • is a senior, distinguished member of the Berkeley CEE faculty and not an alumnus/a of the Department.


Many corporate and individual friends of the Department support the Academy as Blue, Gold, or Silver -level sponsors. The Academy is a resounding success and it is due in large part to the steadfast support of these individuals and companies.